California, a New Beginning

“No, this is not the beginning of a new chapter in my life; this is the beginning of a new book! That first book is already closed, ended, and tossed into the seas; this new book is newly opened, has just begun! Look, it is the first page! And it is a beautiful one!”
― C. JoyBell C.

We moved from Asheville North Carolina, where we were extremely happy.  We left North Carolina to be closer to family, my ex husband (grandpa) and his wife (Nana) , Xoe’s maternal grandparents.  We left North Carolina on July 1st and the trip took us six days, we arrived in California on the 6th.  The trip from North Carolina to California could not have gone better, we were able to stick to an Itinerary, Xoe was well behaved the entire trip, and we had enough money on hand to stay in hotels, and eat well throughout the trip. We brought Xoe’s hamster, named Hamster and on July 6, 2013, Xoe, Hamster, and I started our new book of life in California.

We are staying with my ex-husband and his wife for about 6 months so that I can get my feet on the ground, and be able to rent a decent apartment.  I got rid of everything I own in North Carolina because it was cheaper to get rid of everything and buy used stuff when I got here.  The only things I kept were some of Xoe’s toys and clothes, my clothes, and our computers.

We have been here one week and this week has flown by.  Xoe formed an instant bond with the grandparents, she’s especially close with Nana.  Xoe first met Nana and grandpa when she was just a few months old when they visited us in Asheville North Carolina, and again when Xoe was about two years old when Xoe and I visited the grandparents in California.  Although Xoe was pretty young the first two times they all met, I am sure she remembers the grandparents.

Xoe already has a friend.  There is a 7 year old girl who lives across the street and she and Xoe met last night at a dinner party hosted by Nana and grandpa.  The dinner party was held so that Xoe and I could meet the neighbors across the street.  The girls started playing after dinner and got along very well.  They laughed and played for about 2 hours, I was surprised at how well they got along considering Xoe is 3 and the girl is 7, the age difference didn’t seem to matter at all.

If this week is a barometer of things to come, California is going to be a good move, a new beginning, a new book yet to be written.

Leave a Reply

