07/16/2013 About My Blog

Friends and family have encouraged me to write a blog and I finally decided to do it. I started this blog as a way to share updates on Xoe and me, and as a way to keep a daily diary/journal about our day-to-day lives.  I thought it would be easy because I write daily updates on us on Facebook, and the words just flow there.  Now that I know that this blog is public, it seems to be a little harder to come up with things to write about.  On Facebook, I usually write about nothing, but here on the blog I not only have to write about something, I also have to come up with a title for my post.

One thing you will notice is that I write about friends and family a lot, and I try to avoid naming names but sometimes I have to name people.  If you know me and we interact, chances are you will be written about.  Most of my friends and family enjoy the posts where I write about these people who cross my path, I have enjoyed writing about them too.  Some people annoy me, some people amuse me, some people I love and some people I don’t, everyone is fair game.

I also write a lot about Xoe, what she’s doing, who she’s playing with, what kind of day she has, after all this is a blog about Life with Xoe Richardson.

Xoe came into my life on August 12, 2009, her mother, my daughter, a single mom, asked me if I would keep Xoe.  I found it very difficult to care for a newborn on my own, she never slept for more than a couple of hours at a time, and I was always exhausted.  I’ve had Xoe since she was 2 days old, and I have never looked back, I can’t imagine my life without her now. Xoe didn’t start sleeping through the night until she was about 2 and a half, now she is 3 and a half and sleeps well.  I on the other hand, still haven’t gotten my sleep schedule back on track, I usually wake up every 2-3 hours.  I don’t sleep a lot, but this gives me more time to write.

I started posting on Facebook every day because I was living alone with Xoe and my biggest fear was that I would drop dead, and Xoe would slowly starve to death because she was too young to call 911 or use the phone, and couldn’t call for help or get out the front door by herself.  Mandy, a relative of mine said she would watch for my posts and if I didn’t post one day, she would call the police to do a well person check. Now that I have moved to California and living with grandpa and Nana, I don’t need to post every day but I am still posting on Facebook each day, it’s hard to break that habit.

Most of what I write about is just day to day life, going to the doctor, having a friend over to play, going to the park or library, that kind of thing. Some of my Facebook friends have really enjoyed my posts and have asked me if I ever thought of writing a book.  Since I haven’t ever given a book consideration, I thought a blog would be a good way to write, and it would’t be that different from writing my Facebook posts.  Although, I do find that these blog posts are a bit more difficult than posting on Facebook.  The audience on the blog is much broader than the audience on Facebook, and most of the people reading my blog posts are not my friends.  By the way, feel free to send me a friend request on Facebook, write me a note saying that you read my blog and I will be sure to add you as my friend.  I get a lot of spam through Facebook and have to turn down a lot of requests because of it.  If you send me a note, I will know that your friend request is not spam. https://www.facebook.com/adrienne.lawleyrichardson

I just wanted to explain what I blog about and why, so when you read my posts you will know what to expect.  I write about what’s happening each day, the things we are dong, and the people we meet.  The next blog posts are going to be about Xoe’s swim lessons, my VA doctor visit, me trying to get a California License and Registration for my car, and maybe Xoe’s new friend who lives across the street.  I might even write about Xoe’s hamster named Hamster.  It just depends on what’s happening each day, what I write about is very random.

I hope you enjoy my blog and if you have anything you would like to say to me, feel free to leave a comment.  If you like my blog post, please click the Like button.  Also, if you would like to Follow my posts (receive updates when I post) click the Follow button.  Thank you for visiting my blog, I hope you enjoy it.  I enjoy writing about what Xoe and I are doing, plus it’s a great way to keep the family updated on what’s going on in our lives.

Leave a Reply

