07/20/2013 Xoe and Electronics

Ever since Xoe was old enough to crawl she has been breaking the electronic equipment in the house.  By the time she was 2 years old she had broken 2 DVD players, 2 laptop computers, and a phone.

In May 2012, I bought a bright shiny new red Dell Laptop.  Given Xoe’s history of breaking anything electronic, I decided to buy the Accidental Drop and Spill protection.  The coverage was for 3 years, and I checked online and I am covered.  It’s a good thing I am covered because tonight Xoe threw the mouse at the laptop and the screen shattered.

Xoe was tired and had a little meltdown and the computer was her target, she’s not a bad kid, she’s a three year old having a temper tantrum.  This is the first time she has broken something while having a temper tantrum.  One DVD broke when she stuffed a sandwich inside and the other DVD broke when she was trying to find out what was inside of it.  The first laptop she tore all the keys off and I was able to use it with an external keyboard until she spilled a drink on it, the second laptop the same thing happened.

Xoe was so upset that she broke the computer, she cried herself to sleep. I wasn’t as upset by it as she was, I don’t know if it’s because I am used to her breaking my stuff, or that I had an excellent warranty that will refund to me the money I paid or it.

It’s still going to cost me about $300-400 dollars in addition to the refund they will send me to get something comparable because I bought the computer on sale for only $529.00.  I am going to start looking around, I would like to replace it with a touch screen computer with Windows 8.  I have just bought myself a new Dell in May of 2013, with touch screen and Windows 8 and I really like it.

Whatever I get, I am getting the accidental drops and spills warranty.

Leave a Reply

